Books

If You Liked The Film Mockingjay, You’ll Love These Books:

what to read after hunger games

Bhoomika GhaghadaBooks,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Thanks to IMDB, it is now easy to move from film to similar film, with the ‘People who liked this also like’ tab. When the same comes to reading, it gets a bit more complicated. You enter a book store [if it’s as majestic as Book World, Heaven help you] with countless mint condition books stacked in tall shelves calling out to you from each genre. It can be quite overwhelming if you’re just dipping your toe into the reading pool; where to start?

Hence, this column. On a fortnightly basis, we’ll be giving you 5 books you can pick up which lie in the same genre as that film you loved. Having begun reading, you can then move seamlessly from book to book. Welcome to the world of the bookworm.

The Film

Mockingjay Part 1

Based on the popular Hunger Games trilogy written by novelist Suzanne Collins, the first instalment of this post-apocalyptic dystopian novel-turned-movie franchise, Mockingjay witnesses Katniss Everdeen finally take up her position as leader of the rebellion against the sadistic dictatorial Capitol. Katniss has escaped the second round of Hunger Games featuring only the past winners, while Peeta is taken captive by the Capitol and used as bait to stop the rebellion and bring Katniss back. The conclusion of this instalment reveals the rebellion’s successful infiltration into the Capitol’s headquarters, rescuing of the captive winners and Peeta. However, Peeta has been brainwashed to believe that the rebellion is wrong, and that Katniss is the enemy.

Liked this film? Then you’ll like:

The Books

The Mortal Instruments – City Of Bones

cityofbones

The first instalment of The Mortal Instruments series, the City of Bones is an introduction to the life of Clary Fray. A seemingly ordinary tomboy with a knack for arts and culture – and seeing invisible signs. The book focuses on the discovery of her Shadowhunter descent, the reason behind her ability to see strange symbols invisible to others, and why she has come home to find a demon in her house. Cassandra Clare, author of The Mortal Instruments series of novels, was initially a Harry Potter fan fiction writer.

Intrigued? You should be.

Divergent

Divergent

Also a novel series-turned-movie franchise, the Divergent trilogy, written by upcoming author Veronica Roth, focuses on a dystopian society after a war that destroyed nearly all of mankind. The society is now divided into five different communities that hold different values above all else: Abnegation, Erudite, Dauntless, Amity, and Candor. The story focuses on Beatrice “Tris” Prior, a member of the Abnegation community – those who are known for their selfless attitude and rarely given any respect. A series of tests take place for each member of the community who turns 16 years old to determine the community best suited to them [as a suggestion]. Later at a ceremony, they are allowed to choose their own communities. During the test, Beatrice discovers her Divergent personality, a rare condition which refers to a person possessing traits typical of more than one community – something that results in immediate execution by the authorities.

A wonderful example of what happens to people who are seen as ‘abnormal’. Hope this strikes your fancy.

Delirium

delirium
Similar to Divergent, Delirium differs as it targets the concept of love in particular. Written by Lauren Oliver, the novel revolves around 18 year old Magdalena ‘Lena’ Haloway, a civilian who lost her mother to Delirium, an epidemic that involves feeling love for another person. In the novel, love has been described as a disease that causes insanity among humans, immediately either executed or banished. At the age of 18, each member of the community has to attend a series of interviews to reveal signs of delirium. The interviews conclude with a ‘cure’ given to each member to make them immune to the disease. Delirium is only the first instalment of the trilogy (second being Pandemonium and Requiem), depicting Lena’s journey as a rebel against this strange dystopian society and delirium.

A world without love – Quite a stretch of the imagination huh?

Cinder

Cinder

Written by established author Marissa Meyer, the novel is the first instalment of The Lunar Chronicles series. The series is unique in its dark take on Disney’s fairytales. As the title suggests, Cinder is a story reminiscent of Cinderella in a post apocalyptic world where cyborgs reign over mankind. The story revolves around the half female- half cyborg Cinder, a slave to her stepmother and owner of a makeshift technology repair shop in the city of New Beijing. One visit from the stereotypically handsome, Prince Kai to her shop – for the repairing of a cyborg consisting of top secret information – changes her life. This faulty cyborg contains the location of a lost princess, heir to the throne that will save the city from falling into the clutches of the dominant Lunars, inhabitants of the moon, capable of mind control. The novel is about Cinder’s journey from repairing the cyborg to extracting the information and fighting her way into the ball in grease-streaked clothes to save him – and New Beijing.

The exotic Far East mixed with technology and a Disney fairytale -hits quite a few high notes, this one.

The Maze Runner 

mazerunner

In this novel, James Dashner writes about society’s attempt to help the new generation adapt to the constant raging war and extreme conditions left in the wake of an apocalypse. This attempt involves trapping one member of the youth into a maze [which changes everyday], called the Glade, constructed by scientists. The maze is controlled by a team of scientists where they send food and a new youth every month to join the maze. Their challenge entails survival in the dangerous maze fighting lurking gigantic carnivorous cyborg spiders and finding their way out into the real world. The story revolves around Thomas, the newest member of the Glade, his journey to becoming a maze runner [maze runners are few people who can run fast enough for one hour each morning in search of a way out of the maze and return in time before the spiders emerge], and finding a way back into the real world.

Adrenaline-junkies, this one’s for you.

Are any of these books on your reading list?
What other movies would you like lists for? Tell us in the comments below.